Skip to content

Because sometimes your own strength, your own words, don’t feel like enough.

January 28, 2010

Forgive my pathos, if it seems excessive.  I’ve just been in a really good place in my life lately, and I know that a lot of other people have not been so fortunate.  This is my way of giving the world a little metaphorical hug, so that they know that there are people who care. 

Smile though your heart is aching
Smile even though it’s breaking.
When there are clouds in the sky
you’ll get by.
If you smile through your pain and sorrow
Smile and maybe tomorrow
You’ll see the sun shining through
For you.
Light up your face with gladness,
Hide every trace of sadness.
Although a tear may be ever so near
That’s the time you must keep on trying
Smile, what’s the use of crying.
You’ll find that life is still worthwhile-
If you just smile.
– Charlie Chaplin

Therefore let the moon
Shine on thee in thy solitary walk;
And let the misty mountain winds be free
To blow against thee:  and in after years,
When these wild ecstacies shall be matured
Into a sober pleasure, when thy mind
Shall be a mansion for all lovely forms,
Thy memory be as a dwelling-place
For all sweet sounds and harmonies; Oh! then,
If solitude, or fear, or pain, or grief,
Should be thy portion, with what healing thoughts
Of tender joy wilt thou remember me,
And these my exhortations!  Nor, perchance,
If I should be, where I no more can hear
Thy voice, nor catch from thy wild eyes these gleams
Of past existence, wilt thou then forget
That on the banks of this delightful stream
We stood together.
– William Wordsworth

My mind, because the minds that I have loved,
The sort of beauty that I have approved,
Prosper but little, has dried up of late,
Yet knows that to be choked with hate
May well be of all evil chances chief.
If there’s no hatred in a mind
Assault and battery of the wind
Can never tear the linnet from the leaf….

Considering that, all hatred driven hence,
The soul recovers radical innocence
And learns at last that it is self-delighting,
Self-appeasing, self delighting,
And that its own sweet will is Heaven’s will;
She can, though every face should scowl
And every windy quarter howl
Or every bellows burst, be happy still.
– William Butler Yeats

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenna permalink
    January 28, 2010 4:55 pm

    1. I love that Papergirl video (I used it in a presentation last semester :D)
    2. I like the Charlie Chaplin quote.
    3. I really like the idea of giving a metaphorical hug to the world. 🙂

    Also, the modern art piece was perfect for this post.

    • January 28, 2010 5:15 pm

      Thanks, Jenna. I’m glad at least one person looks at my blog and enjoys it haha.

Leave a Reply

