Skip to content

Who are the new great poets and authors?

January 31, 2010

Part of the new Weightwatchers bit that I’ve been doing for a week now is keeping my mind off of food and onto other things.  So I turn to my next addiction:  literature.

And I read.  A lot.  But what have I read?

Sure, if you pull out the list of the so called “Great Books,” those written by dead old white guys and considered so by dead old white guys, I could put my finger on quite a few that I have read.   In fact, in college I’ve decided to spend my time on these works, everything from Beowulf to Yeats and back again, all delightful bits of literature, all wonderful and eye openening… to an extent.

But now I wonder… what else is there?

Who is starring on the modern literary stage? 

My quest for this week will be to find at least 5 books published within the last 10 years to purchase/borrow and read during February.  This should be a fantastic adventure, and I’m terribly excited.  I am totally open to suggestions, and I’ll be pestering my friends for them.

Oh, and what do you think of the new look?  I like more color than the last one had, but I’m thinking this one might be a bit overwhelming.  Gotta love Matisse. 

Till next time!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    February 1, 2010 5:02 am

    Does ‘Fight Club’ count as the last 10 years? It was published in 1996. Chuck Palahniuk has had several books since then, so he still counts as ‘last ten year’s to me. Anyway, I just finished reading it and I’ll recommend it to anyone who will sit still long enough.

    Also, did you ever get a copy of Paper Towns? If you wanna borrow mine, let me know. That’s definitely ‘last ten years’.

    P.S. Love the shade of green in your background.

  2. February 1, 2010 3:48 pm

    That’s a great idea! And thanks, I’m so glad you like it! I am pretty sure Fight club counts. And would you mind if I borrowed paper towns? could you bring it to class on Wednesday?

    • Sarah permalink
      February 3, 2010 6:46 pm

      Yep, I have Paper Towns with me. See you in a bit! You can keep it as long as you like, provided I get it back sometime this semester. XD

  3. Megan permalink
    February 1, 2010 6:50 pm

    Come check out my small library. Maybe you can find some nice non-fiction :]

  4. Penny permalink
    February 2, 2010 6:37 am

    Love the new look.

    Are you thinking about fiction or non-fiction?

  5. February 2, 2010 10:26 pm

    I’m open to either, honestly. Just something new that I can really sink my teeth into, you know?

  6. Penny permalink
    February 3, 2010 2:54 am

    One of my favortie fiction books is Th3re by Ted Dekker. It’s Christian fiction, if you’re not turned off by that. It is really not a preach-y book at all. Very action-packed.
    Although I am not a fan of Stephen King, I do like his non-fiction book titled “On Writing”. However, it is evident by reading this book that he has a massive ego. But, once I got passed that, it really is a educational book.

    And because I just can’t help myself, I am gonna throw in the possibility of Twilight. 🙂
    Yep, I’m a Twerd. Sorry.
    Definitely not Beowulf, but definitely addicting.
    I apologize if you are annoyed by the Twilight recommendation. A lot of people has a passionate hatred for it. 🙂

  7. February 3, 2010 3:27 am

    I’m not opposed to Christian fiction, my friend stephanie has been trying to get me to read C.S. Lewis forever haha. And I read Twilight in high school, was addicted, and now have been edward free for about two years.
    The Stephen King book sounds really interesting, I’m not really a king fan either, but I wonder what he’ll be like in Nonfiction.
    Thanks so much for your sugesstions!

    • Penny permalink
      February 3, 2010 6:43 am

      LMAO!!! Edward free!!! OMG that is so funny.

      Did you have to medicate yourself to become Edward free?? I read Twilight 2 years ago and am still obsessing over Edward. And I’m married. With kids. And I’m 27.
      Yeah, I think I need a prescription. 🙂

      (Also, I misspelled “Th3re”. It should be “Thr3e”.) 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 in review « The Joy of Life

Leave a Reply

