Skip to content

My New Job at Heifer/Going green!

February 6, 2010

Okay, so tomorrow morning I am going to train for my new volunteer job at Heifer Village. 

I’m kind of nervous.

I’m going to be giving tours of the Green Building next to Heifer village, where they keep their offices.  If was the first building in Arkansas to receive the LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Platinum rating.  It has all kinds of cool energy saving/green elements to the building that are so commonsensical that you wouldn’t even think about it.  It’s so cool! 

So, for the next six months of Saturdays and/or Sundays, I will be giving tours of this unassuming yet completely awesome building hiding in a little corner of what was once considered the bad side of Little Rock. 

Oh, God, I hope I don’t screw up.  People are gonna like, be listening to me, and like, expecting me to know stuff, and like, to be able to articulate myself well…. I just have this image of myself trying to say hello and no words coming out, and then the people start to laugh and point, and now I’m no longer just unable to talk but I can’t breathe, I’m literally choking on the words, and then I run away in shame. 

Maybe I should consider a different career path.  I’ve always wanted to be a teacher.

NO!  I will be just fine.  I am charismatic and interesting and I’ll learn the information and it’ll all turn out okay.

I think.  Gulp.

This is about as powerful as I feel.

But on the bright side of things, maybe I’ll do a little good for the world.  Even if it is just stuttering through some really cool information.  And who knows?  Maybe the people will listen to me and learn something.  Maybe some young people will hear something they like about the building and make their home more green when they grow up and have a family.  Maybe this is my little part for the world.  Maybe I’ll be the next green hero!

…Or not.

But everybody’s got a chance to do some good.  It would be so cool to be a part of that.  So, nervous in my mind and determined in my heart, I will set forth to learn and do and teach.  I will take a stand for the planet with the only thing I’m good at: learning information and getting so excited about it that it sounds completely awesome (because it totally is!!!)  Wish me luck, fellow adventurers, and go see Heifer Village if you get a chance.  Til then, I’ll be kickin’ ass for nature.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

