Skip to content

It’s cool to be smart. It’s not cool to be serious.

May 1, 2010

Here is something that has to be said:  Fun is more than just fun… it is important.  It is valuable.

Something that I love about the study of literature and art is that I get to use my intelligence without having to be terribly serious all the time.  There are moments when the sadness of a piece can move me to tears, when the tone of a work moves me to deep contemplative thought…

But there is also a playfulness that gets overlooked.  A fun, sexy awesomeness that comes with reading stories.

Take this for example:

Doesn’t that just look like it was fun to make?

Or this:

‘Bard Bracy! bard Bracy! your horses are fleet,
Ye must ride up the hall, your music so sweet,
More loud than your horses’ echoing feet!
And loud and loud to Lord Roland call,
Thy daughter is safe in Langdale hall!”

This is Coleridge, describing a man in a great hurry.  Read it out loud–can you hear the horses running?  So playful, so fun, all in such a simple (however brilliant) form.

And how about this:

If you think this painting is boring or serious you must have a very exciting life.

Or This:

“I met a lady in the meads,
Full beautiful – a faery’s child,
Her hair was long, her foot was light,
And her eyes were wild.

I made a garland for her head,
And bracelets too, and fragrant zone;
She look’d at me as she did love,
And made sweet moan.

I set her on my pacing steed,
And nothing else saw all day long,
For sidelong would she bend, and sing
A faery’s song.”

This is Keats, describing an incredible love affair (which admittedly later turns rather sour).  But isn’t the description just wonderful?  “Her eyes were wild” and she “made sweet moan.”

Whoever said literature was boring had NO idea what they were missing out on.

Why do you think Troy was so awesome?

Oh, yeah.  That’s literature.

Art and literature kind of play with your mind, they lead you to incredible moments that you wouldn’t have had otherwise.  Reading and observing should inspire you to be creative and active in the world, should inspire you to stretch out your emotions and consider other perspectives and be an overall better person.  I have books upon books upon books in my apartment, and if I could I would have paintings everywhere too.  Every book, every painting has a story, a gem of truth that wants to be seen.

…but at the end of the day literature is expressive and beautiful and, most importantly, fun.  And art is the same way.  At least for me.


One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenna permalink
    May 3, 2010 8:31 pm

    dear Samantha,
    thank you for reminding me why I liked being an English major.

    thank you,
    Jenna

Leave a Reply

