Skip to content

My plans for summer!

May 7, 2010

I am so excited, I have so many things that I’m going to do during this break!

Now, let me preface this by describing what my usual summer vacation is like.  The last three summers of my life have been spent thus:

Summer 2009- Ruby Tuesday

It’s not as glamorous as the picture might lead you to believe.  If you’ve ever been a server you know.

Summer 2008- Shell Station

Dear God, what a horrible summer, though I made decent money.

Summer 2007- Sitting at home doing nothing.

Needless to say I need a little excitement in my summer.

However, because of my unexplainable good fortune, I have an incredible opportunity this summer.

Paris!

For three weeks in June I get to go away to Paris and live and study and learn… I am incredibly excited.

However, since I will only be in Paris for a month, and summer is three months, I have compiled a list of things I would like to do before the fall semester.  I am a very goal-oriented person, and having a list of things to do, and then actually getting that list done, makes me feel like a happy little geek.

So, here’s the list!

1.  READING!  I have books to read not only for the classes I’m taking in Paris but also for my own soul.  I want to read something for FUN.  I have been reading for class for so long that I almost forgot what it felt like to breeze through a book just because I love it.  I’m already planning on rereading a Harry Potter book or two, then onto something absolutely ridiculous and fun that I’ve not quite found yet.

2.  WORKOUTS! I have a yoga tape, a new big bouncy exercise ball, and I’m going to buy hand weights so that while I’m watching my favorite episodes of House, Glee, Frasier, Family Guy, and Bones, I will be able to work my arms and core and not feel like a fat kid.  Plus, there are some advantages to being stuck in the middle of nowhere:  great scenery.  So I’m going to explore some of my natural territory and go walking or jogging.

3. FRENCH! Oh, dear.  This one is going to be hard.  I have to practice French so that when I get to France I don’t sound like a complete moron.  Plus, apparently to get into graduate school you have to know a foreign language.  So I’m going to be doing that.  Je ne voudrais pas etudier francais. I’ll try to make it fun though, and watch Disney songs and Sesame Street in French on Youtube.  I’m a little excited about that part 😉

So that’s it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Penny permalink
    May 8, 2010 4:55 am

    AWESOME summer plan! I hope you have a fantastic time in Paris. Since I like to live vicariously through other bloggers, I will need a really good and in depth Paris post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

