Skip to content

Hello again!

August 6, 2010

So, it has been quite a long time since I’ve done this.  I read a post by a friend today, and decided to get back on the wagon.

This has been a summer of extremes and escapism for me.  I’m not terribly proud.

But I’ll start with the good.

At the Moulin Rouge!

Looking out from the Eiffel Tower!

The trip to Paris was an incredible experience that I’ll never forget.  Getting to live in a city with such history and beauty was a true privilege, one that has both changed and inspired me.

For three weeks, I lived in a sort of apartment/hotel in the Place d’Italie in Paris, France.  Few people spoke English very well, so I got to learn some French while I was there (J’aime le Paris!), which was really fun.

Mostly, I studied Hemingway and Joan of Arc.  Now, I love Hemingway, but the Joan of Arc story is just depressing!  No matter how you spin it, no matter if you hate her, love her, or are completely indifferent, she ALWAYS dies at the end.  Burned at the stake, publicly humiliated, etc.  Depressing.

BUT the trip was intensely and unmistakably one of the greatest experiences of my life.

Me kissing Oscar Wilde's tomb!

Lots of huge, beautiful Gothic churches.

So, for today we will conclude with the intensely amazing and enlightening.  I’ll share funny stories occasionally, maybe more pictures later.

But for now I feel good sharing just the beginning, just the hopeful and beautiful parts.

Next time will be a little different.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Penny permalink
    August 11, 2010 6:13 pm

    I have been wondering about you. Glad you are back. Would love to hear more about your lovely trip to Paris. 🙂

Leave a Reply

